MSBO Technology Committee Meeting

April 13, 2023

1:00 pm - 2:00 pm - Zoom

Chair: Rick Webb, Fremont Public Schools

Co-chair: Fred Sharpsteen, Mecosta-Osceola ISD

Vice Chair: Kevin Hustek, Warren Woods Public Schools

1. Welcome & Introductions

Members present:

Rick Webb – Kenowa Hills, Debbie Kopkau - MSBO, Kevin Hustek – Warren Woods Public Schools, Katherine Cermack - MDE, Robert Holiday - Ingham ISD, Scott Vugteveen - Caledonia Community Schools, Susan Case – Forest Hills Public Schools, Eric Allshouse - Bay-Arenac ISD, Kevin O'Brien, Erik Drake – REMC \$aves, Craig Ghareeb - Grand Rapids Public Schools, Peter Klein - Clinton County RESA, Ben Courtade - Northwest Education Services, Tim Atwood – Grant Public Schools, Matt Shenck - Kalamazoo RESA, Jeff Trudell - Wyandotte Public Schools, Chris Cerrudo - Harbor Springs Public Schools, Adam Covell - Clinton Community Schools, Andrew Steinman - Plymouth-Canton Community Schools, Robert Breedlove - Reed City Area Public Schools, Fred Sharpsteen, Mecosta-Osceola ISD, Mike Antoine – Roseville Community Schools, Mark Spackman KRESA, Tim Klan – Livonia Public Schools, Nate Moore - Kearsley Community Schools, Bob Milanowski, IDville, Christian Palasty and Kali Stevens - East Lansing Public Schools, Cindy Lindner – Rochester Community Schools, Daniel Schuler - KRESA, Douglas Crawford, Haley Stark, Tahquamenon Area Schools, James Stauble – Fowlerville Community Schools, Jamie Stottlemyer – West Bloomfield School District, Jill Gillian – Lapeer County ISD, John Schiesler, Jon Harpst Jr. – Ingham ISD, Josh Hayes, Wexford Missaukee and West Shore ISD, Ken Jacobs – Lincoln Park Public Schools, Lukas Enciso – Van Buren ISD, Mark Deschaine – Grand Ledge Public Schools, Michael Partridge - Ingham ISD, Michael Suitor - Alcona Community Schools, Nancy Couto – Armada Area Schools, Steve Miles – South Haven Public Schools, and William Olson – Reed City Area Schools

- 2. Approved minutes from March 9, 2023 Susan Case motions to accept the minutes; Craig Ghareeb 2^{nd} . M/C
- 3. Election for chair of 2023-24 Chair Motion to keep Rick Webb as chair by Nancy Couto and seconded by Susan Case. M/C Nominations for Fred Sharpsteen and Kevin Hustek for Vice Chair. William Olson made motions to close nominations and Steve Miles 2nds. Fred declined the nomination. M/C. Kevin Hustek is the Vice Chair.

- 4. Katherine Cermack shares slide deck. Today is the fourth day of testing. Over 56,000 testing and Tuesday and Wednesday will be the next highest days of testing. Discussed the interruption on Tuesday and apologized for this. It ended up being only an hour of interruption. Recommended that if you have tech issues stop taking the test and resume the next time. Review the slides at https://www.msbo.org/tech_testing-updates apr23/.
- 5. REMC Update and SPOT Bid Program –Erik Drake
 REMC Bid opened today, April 13 and will go through September 30. Six vendors, Apple,
 CDW for Education, InaComp TSG, HP, Sehi, and Presidio. Any questions, contact Karen
 Hairston, your REMC contact, Erik Drake, or Mike Richardson.

Copy bid contract is up May 31, 2023. It will be sent out on April 25, 2023, and awarded May 10, 2023. Things seem to be much more normal.

Exhibiting at the MSBO Conference in booth #507.

REMC will be at the Merit Member Conference – April 16 & 17 and a reverse trade show on April 30.

- 6. Cyber Security Josh Hayes, West Shore ESD and Wexford-Missaukee ISD gave a great presentation on things to look for in cyber vulnerabilities in your district. See the slides at https://www.msbo.org/tech_cybersecurity_apr23/.
- 7. MSBO Annual Conference Update Debbie Kopkau Kopkau reported 1781 people registered. Over 380 exhibit booths. This will be the largest one ever. There is one spot left for Technology Pre-conference.

Michael Partridge motioned to adjourn. 2nd by Kevin Hustek. Meeting adjourned at 2:20 pm

Respectfully submitted,

Debbie Kopkau - MSBO